The Vedic System of Astrology

The Zodiac
In Vedic Astrology (jyotish), the Ayanamsa value (due to the precession of equinox) is deducted from the Tropical longitudes of planets (and the Ascendant) to get the Sidereal longitudes. Hence the longitudes of planets in Western astrology (Tropical) and Vedic astrology differ by (aprox) 50.25 seconds per year (from the date of coincidence of the Tropical and the Sidereal zodiacs).
Obviously Natal charts cast in these 2 systems will not be the same!

Grahas (planets)
In Jyotish, the name given to Vedic astrology, only the planets from Sun through to Saturn are used as the outer planets Neptune, Uranus and Pluto are not considered major players in the destiny of man. The Sidereal (or true) position of the planets is used in Jyotish; not the tropical (or fixed) position as used in Western astrology.

The Nodes
The North and South Nodes of the Moon (Rahu and Ketu), although only mathematical points, are given the status of (shadowy) planets in this system of astrology. They have a significant influence on the houses they occupy and the planets they conjoin.

Dasa System (ruling planets)
According to Vedic system of astrology, each planet rules for a certain length of time. During this time the significations of the planet as well as the affairs of the house it occupies will manifest as our experience. Each major period is divided into sub-periods which are further divided into lesser (or minor) periods. In this way living beings fulfil the karma that is due to them.

Nakshatras (constellations or lunar mansions)
The 27 nakshatras (lunar mansions) play an important role in jyotish as they influence the quality of the sign in which they are positioned and, in the same way, the quality of the graha (planet) depends (to some extent) on the nakshatra in which it's positioned. Each nakshatra is divided into 4 equal parts of 3 degrees 20 minutes (padas), and each nakshatra pada, having its own significance for interpretation, is governed (as lord) by one of the nine planets.

Vargas/Amsas (divisions of rashi)
In this system of astrology several divisions are employed along with the main horoscope. These divisions (or amsas) cover specific areas of one's life in greater depth and are invaluable in their ability to broaden the natal chart...particularly useful in the birth of twins for instance who may be born only minutes apart and often their main horoscopes are identical. However, when considering these amsas, the differences in certain areas of their lives become clear.

Scientists today are discovering the most subtle links between d.n.a. and human behavior. They have isolated not only the genes that predispose us to certain diseases but also the genes that incline us to such things as addictive behavior, criminality, alcoholism, depression, obesity and so on. In so doing they are confirming what our ancient rishis have always known...namely that what we are, what we aspire to achieve, our weaknesses and our strengths are indelibly stamped on our own individual blueprint. This blueprint, present in every strand of d.n.a., is reflected in our horoscope.

© Copyright, 2002 - 2012. All Rights Reserved